Short Historical Background
In a picturesque suburb of Saint-Petersburg, at the ancient town of Gatchina, the construction of the branch of the A.F. Ioffe Physical-Technical Institute of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR began in 1954, where the research activities in the field of nuclear physics more to be concentrated.
In December 1959, the research reactor WWR-M was put into operation, and in 1970 -1 GeV proton synchrocyclotron, remains the main physical facilities of the Institute up to the present. By that time the direction of biological investigations was formed.
The branch of the PTI was reorganized into an independent one - Leningrad Nuclear Physics Institute in 1971. Later it was named in honour of Academician B.P. Konstantinov who played a decisive role in its advancement. The Institute received the name "B.P. Konstantinov Petersburg Nuclear Physics Institute" (PNPI) in 1992.
In 1994 PNPI was given the status of State Research Center of Russia.
In 2011 PNPI was removed from the Russian Academy of Science and came into the National Research Center "Kurchatov Institute".